How did you get proficient in LR shooting?

How did you get proficient at LR shooting?

• Self taught

Votes: 53 70.7%
  • Mentor

Votes: 12 16.0%
  • Book

Votes: 2 2.7%
  • Video

Votes: 3 4.0%
  • Class

Votes: 5 6.7%

• Total voters

The Oregonian

Curious what most of the folks here have done to 'get smart' on this stuff....I would guess the folks who have been at it a while did not start out with classes as it seems it was under the radar for a while, but interested to see where folks have gotten most of their knowledge.

I would also guess that many folks have done many of these, but curious as to which one was most valuable. In all of these responses, I am assuming someone has to practice so not calling it out as an option.

Formal schooling focused on what causes a miss combined with what is required for a successful hit. The two combined should leave a foundation for determining the probability of success before the lanyard or trigger is snapped or squeezed for the very first time.

My dad taught me how to shoot at very young age. I was apparantly a "natural", and I love to shoot, so we went to the range all the time. Over the years, I took that knowledge and skills and molded and honed them over 10's of thousands of rounds down range, into the skills I have today. And I still don't know jack-squat compared to some of these guys, because I didn't grow up shooting long range like most of the northern and mid-western areas. Down here in Alabama, 75% of hunters shoot deer inside of 150 yards, because they pretty much only hunt greenfields. So, it was something I had to teach myself how to do.