Hornady superformance slug help!!!!

JC64

Good evening. New to the forum and need some advice and this forum looked like it could help me out.

I decided to try out a new sabot slug this year and the Hornady Superformance slug looked good because of the 95% cooper. I have been shooting the Hornady SST slugs 12GA for the past 5 or 6 years and they shoot great, BUT...... I have noticed several times after entering the deers body the slug explodes and doesn't retain it's shape and therefore it's weight. This is the main reason I wanted to try the Superformance. My slug barrel comes off after deer season for bird hunting but I always shoot the gun before deer season every year. Last night I cleaned my gun and put the slug barrel on. I shot this morning with the new slugs but heaven for bid I COULD NOT get them to group. I thought I had it once but then the next couple rounds were off more than I like. I am using a lead sled but I haven't had an issue in the past with the lead sled and I couldn't hold the gun much more steady. I guess the saying certain barrels like certain slugs may be true. I am shooting a Benelli SBE 2 by the way. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance!!!!

If you have heard this before, than disregard my post.

Every gun is different when it comes to ammo. Some will like a certain load, however others will not even though it may be the exact make and model. Unfortunately, you may have to shoot several different brands of ammo until you find what your gun likes.

Your gun is telling you it does not like that ammo. I doubt anything you will do can make it shoot any better than what your getting now. I would go back to the ammo you used successfully or try a different brand(s).

Most of MD is shotgun,with slugs for deer. I have had great luck with 2 3/4 inch Lightfield slugs. I have been using them exclusively for 25 years, for deer. I suggest you try a pack and see how they shoot in your SG.

Good luck

Jerry