Best trail cam for the money?

redsnow

Guys, I've got an old Moultrie trail cam, it works good but will eat up batteries like there's no tomorrow. It takes 6 D-sized batteries, heavy enough to use for the boat anchor too.

I know that trail cams have improved over the years, so many different ones on the market.

What's the best thing going today?

I am no expert, but researched on-line and decided on Primos Proof Cam 03. I have 3 of them and so far they seem to do the trick. Battery life is good, pictures are good day and night.
The only complaint is a lot of pictures with nothing in the frame. I assume it's false triggers. They have one of the fastest trigger times so I don't think it is animals stepping out of the picture area before the camera can react. The empty frames don't bother me because I don't think it is missing anything.
Don't have any experience with other cameras.

Well, I've asked a few of my friends in person, seems just about all of them have a different brand. As a rule, it's what was on sale!

Seems the Stealth cameras are good, small and compact. Think $115 or so.

Moultrie has one for $130 or so, shipping included.

Another friend just bought 2, forget the brand, but got them for $50 each. But they take C-sized batteries, so I figure they're a little bigger than some cameras.

But last fall I put my old camera up for a week, with new batteries, after 7 days, and some flash pictures, my battery charge was down to 20 %. With D batteries, that's almost $1 per day.

I'm still checking around.

Oh, wanted to comment about your "false" triggers, I've has some, but lots of times after I put the pictures on my computer, I'll find a squirrel or groundhog in the picture. Never know.