New rifle - fair deal?

varmintH8R

I had a $500 gunshop credit from a raffle I won earlier in the year, and finally got a chance to go look around. On the used shelf they had a Remington 700 in 260rem that was apparently sent out for accurizing by the local PD, before their mandate to go .308. According to the shop, it was trued and re-barreled with a 25" 8-twist LW. It had only been proof tested - the round count was reported <10. I had them put the borescope through it and it looked flawless. I know LW's have some detractors (I have no direct experience) but if nothing else it looks brand-new...

While I can't be sure who did the work (and how much work was done), it clearly has a beefy recoil lug, a near-new barrel, lapped locking lugs, and the trigger is excellent (has been worked for sure). The proof will be in how it shoots, but I feel like I got a fair deal at $775.

I know little about Remingtons, but I DO know there are some experts that haunt these parts - see anything interesting here or have any idea on what sub-model it is (VS, Sendero, etc)?

Sorry for the bad pic, I'll try to get a better one tomorrow in the daylight.

Brandon

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    53.3 KB · Views: 50
I had a $500 gunshop credit from a raffle I won earlier in the year, and finally got a chance to go look around. On the used shelf they had a Remington 700 in 260rem that was apparently sent out for accurizing by the local PD, before their mandate to go .308. According to the shop, it was trued and re-barreled with a 25" 8-twist LW. It had only been proof tested - the round count was reported <10. I had them put the borescope through it and it looked flawless. I know LW's have some detractors (I have no direct experience) but if nothing else it looks brand-new...